EAT SLEEP LOVE, STORYTELLING, Uncategorized
Comment 1

A PERFECT HOLIDAY.

midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

What is the perfect holiday? Is it travel, is it vacation? Tomāto, tomăto. My newfound travel heroine Lisa Lindblad said in her interview for Pure that travel shouldn’t be a privilege, it should be a requirement. And that travel in itself is meant to be challenging as it is work already through its etymological meaning. I like that sentiment. And so travel doesn’t contradict with the sentiment of sunloungers and holidays, it’s simply a part of it, or at least should be.

Personally I don’t need a sunlounger and while I’m not one of these strange people who never seem to get sand on their towel (how is that even humanly possible?), I want the sand. I want it everywhere. A beach holiday without sand is completely pointless and if I don’t bring it into my living room upon return, I wonder why I even left in the first place.

midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

Also the mozziesWhile I really don’t like mozzies, I think a holiday without them doesn’t feel quite right.* I’m writing this and I just smashed one against the pillow. I feel accomplished now (and also a tiny bit bad…) I also want cicadas to keep me up at night. Alternatively a good thunderstorm will do.

I like to drink ice-cold coke, which only seems to taste good when I’m on holidays. And beer – the local one! Every country seems to have two competing local brands and it says a lot about you which one you like better. In Thailand that is Chang or Singha; I’m a Singha girl in case you wonder and I even have the t-shirt to prove it.midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

Food markets and discovering an ingredient I have never seen before. Even if that is a toad (yes, true story from Vietnam).

If I don’t find at least one scrawny kitten to feed underneath the table I will not be happy. And each time I will seriously contemplate to take one home, it will happen one of these days.

midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

I am craving dusty roads and potholes. Wind on my face though it messes up my already messy hair.

If the local food can be eaten with fingers even at a fancy hotel, I am the happiest. But I’m much happier when I’m sitting on a little plastic chair in a side alley. Though I do like a fancy hotel bed, a big one with too many pillows and the corners of the sheets not tucked it, that drives me insane.

midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

I need to get lost and find my way; it makes me feel accomplished.

I want see constellations I have never seen before. Actually any stars will do. A good down pour, once, is appreciated.

midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

Sharing a perfect moment with a stranger: a smile, a handshake, a kind word, even if I don’t understand it.

I need to do something that scares me just a little bit. And learning a new skill, like opening a coconut with only the help of your hotel veranda tiles.

Seeing something old and something new.

midnight blue elephant - perfect holiday - cambodia - vietnam - marocco - annika ziehen

Salt, sun, and water on my skin. I need the ocean and enough sun that my freckles start showing. Tangled hair and coconut, summer, suntan smell.

A new friend, a local or a fellow traveller.

A trip from A to B, literally and figuratively. A destination in heart and a destination in mind, a dream fulfilled and a new one formed. A question answered and many others asked that I never thought of asking.

All of that – the perfect holiday and it never feels like work.

*I’m so taking that one back! The mozzie I managed to catch was by far not the last and I went to sleep at 03h00. Which could partly be because I had a double espresso at 22h00 with my dessert, but still, I take the mozzie thing back.

Pictures: Cambodian beach – Hoi An market – Essaouira kittens – favorite riad El-Fenn, Marrakech – thunderstorm Florence, Angkor Wat

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

