FAR FAR AWAY, GERMANY, STORYTELLING, TAKE (ME) AWAY, Uncategorized
Comments 2

‘ITWAS THE NIGHTS BEFORE CHRISTMAS.

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

I recently wrote a story for the Travelettes about experiences. So often we seem to have a destination bucket list, but for me it is really all about the things I want to do and see rather than just places. One of the things I really want to experience now is Christmas time at home. While there are many times when I miss Cape Town temperatures, I haven’t had proper Christmas feelings for the past seven years there. As a child my mother would tell me that in South Africa the candles were melting on my auntie’s Christmas tree, because of the December heat. That is a complete hoax I think my mother made up as I have never seen that happen (if you are a South African and it has happened to you, speak now or be forever silent!). But still the sun is shining and everyone struggles with eating too many Christmas treats while trying to maintain that bikini body. And with all that sunshine you will have a hard time seeing the Christmas lights and it is just really not very cozy.

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehenLast Christmas I was home, but for personal family reasons it was hard to feel really celebratory. So this year I am making an effort to bring along proper Christmas spirit, to be here, to see the lights, and drink ALL the Glühwein of course.

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

With that thought in mind I went shopping on Saturday. Mind you, not for presents, because who goes shopping for Christmas presents on a Saturday voluntarily?! Thanks to a November in Morocco, Egypt, and Dubai I am actually in okay shape in the gift department, but I needed clothes. Actually needed them. In true traveler’s fashion my suitcase was stolen from my flat last year. Not my stereo, but a whole suitcase full of presents and all my winter clothes. So basically I had nothing except one cashmere jersey on permanent loan from my dad which is by now full of moths’ holes. So spending the morning at COS and amongst too cheery Christmas shoppers wasn’t the experience I had in mind, but a necessity.

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

However thanks to Jingle Bells & Co the mood did rub off on me a little and I did feel the need to decorate just a tiny bit and celebrate the fact that there was no chance in hell that my fancy candles would get melted by sunshine. With that in mind I bought hand dyed candles from Kerzenfarm and lit my scented candle from Vellas Loreto. If you go to Lisbon please check it out – it is the oldest and most awesome candle shop ever and they sell candles that smell like tomato leaves. And yes, you want your home to smell like tomato leaves! I also got a few leaves of red berries and green stuff, spelt butter spekulatius as I can’t bake, and the burning desire to drink Glühwein before cocktail hour.

hamburg-christmas-winter-market-travel-midnight blue elephant- annika ziehen

Now looking around my little flat I think I have created the perfect Christmas-y space to write a list and check it twice. Needless to say it is not a present wish list, but a list of Where will I travel to next year?

2 Comments

  1. Enjoy Christmas time in Hamburg, I have been living here for 8 years now and I still think it is magical!
    On a not so positive note, I have not even started with the Christmas presents and this makes me want to die a little bit, but still, I love Christmas time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

