FAR FAR AWAY, SOUTH AFRICA, TEN THINGS I LOVE ABOUT YOU
Comments 5

TEN THINGS I LOVE ABOUT YOU, CAPE TOWN.

cape town_south africa_10 reasons to love cape town_midnight blue elephant

I left my previous home Cape Town just over eight months ago. I had to count the months on my fingers because it actually just feels like yesterday and if I close my eyes I can still see ever thing and every picture in my old apartment and feel the wind on my skin when I stand on my balcony.

I haven’t really missed it since until very recently. Maybe it is the horrid weather here in Hamburg or the fact that I really left a lot of good friends and amazing family. Or maybe it is that sometimes my reflection looks a bit sad when I look at myself in the mirror these days.

In hindsight it feels like in South Africa I was always smiling though I do not that wasn’t so. Don’t get me wrong I am not sad, life is good here, and I left Cape Town for many valid reasons. I have moved across oceans a few times already and never regretted a single time, but just because I can do it was right doesn’t mean it was easy. Leaving a life, a safe haven is always tough. Leaving a life that is, at least on the outside so sunny and easy as only Cape Town life can be, is especially hard.

While I’m currently working on making a few jobs happen that may take me back for a visit I thought it was due time for a little love letter to a city that will always have a special place in my heart.

Ten things I love about you, Cape Town.

one Sitting at my cousin’s pool deck (and yes, it is candy cotton colored!), drinking bubbly. Hopefully by the time I come next her very own vineyard will be ready for harvest. two Wildlife, so close. three Hate to jump on a bandwagon, but I kinda really love Jason (no ‘s) Bakery. He is a biker and a biker and makes really awesome porcini dusted bread and doughssants and other awesome treats. four Sand selfies. five While it overlooked a parking lot, I really miss the view from my old flat. And while it was usually to windy to sit on my balcony, I spent a few starry nights on it with some wonderful people that I miss as well. six Giraffes. Of course. And street art. seven Doing a lot of new things and challenging myself. Like pitching a tent in the dark, camping, and wearing a unicorn headlamp. All the while still being a lady and drinking pink champagne. eight Nobody can miss Cape Town and not miss at least the view of Table Mountain. nine Woolie’s veggies. Cut, washed, pre-packed, and perfect for singles.

ten While there is no picture, the one drink I really miss and which surely nobody can relate to without having tried is a Chenin Blanc slushie. So you will just need to trust me on it until you can go to Cape Town yourself, head to the Secret Courtyard to try it, and fall in love yourself.

 

5 Comments

  1. I left Cape Town closed to 40 years ago, so I don’t miss it as I made my home in North America. CT is by far the most beautiful city in the world. It will always have a special place in my heart, but I can’t go back. Too much water under the bridge and it’s a place I can’t fit into sociologically 🙂

    Like

    • I hear you, Jennifer. And I feel the same. Nevertheless I miss it much some days and I am glad to have the possibility to return for a visit.

      Like

      • I can’t even relate in any way with SA anymore, because it’s a totally different country from what I left 40 years ago – the Waterfront in CT didn’t exist, internet didn’t exist, and of course it’s a different country politically and sociologically.

        Like

Leave a Reply

