EAT SLEEP LOVE, FAR FAR AWAY, HOTELS ♥, STORYTELLING, THAILAND
Comments 2

LIFE LATELY. MARCH EDITION.

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

The last couple of weeks have been a whirlwind. Sorry, I actually hate this expression and hope you do too. But holiday life has indeed been somewhat busy and while I’m trying to decide where my sandy little feet will go for dinner I thought to give you a picturesque overview of what has been happening. I took full advantage of the business class flight that Emirates bestowed on me and changed my return ticket in order to add a week to do my Advanced Open Waters in Koh Tao. So after yet another day of getting up early, catching a plane, waiting, catching a ferry, I have arrived back in paradise and giving New Heaven’s diver’s hut a go. So far so good, because while it is a simple little accommodation I do have my own office porch including sea view and the hugest banyan tree to watch over me. And more importantly tomorrow I will be off into the blue again and while a bit anxious, it has been ages it seems, I cannot wait!

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

I am trying to think back of all that has happened and cannot believe that three and a half weeks of travel have already passed. First there was Chiang Mai and the best cozy little hotel ever. A perfect place to … be sick. Yes, that happened. Julia and I both got a somewhat mild streak of food poisoning and while I was inconsolable that I couldn’t go with to the Elephant Sanctuary, I was happy to have a chilled place to recover.

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehenmidnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehenBeing sick came just in time too because after Chiang Mai we were off for our hike. Let me add right here that I am not an avid hiker by any means nor very fit at the moment. So while we had a really great mix of trekking, cultural activities, and lots of massages, I was fried after the first day. To top this I fell badly on my thigh which sported the biggest bruise ever (luckily gone now just in time for bikini time) and stubbed my big toe so bad that it is black now and I am expecting it to fall off any day now. Let’s just say that it was somewhat enjoyable but most of all a great accomplishment for me; the mountains around Chiang Mai are stunning, but I was not unhappy when it was over. I have also renewed made plans to renew my gym membership.

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

So when we got to Bangkok at least I was properly bruised and battered and in dire need of daily massages and copius amounts of coconut balls. Of course I got both. Other than that I did a whole lot of nothing, it was honestly just too hot and I pretended to be too exhausted from the hike.

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehenMy birthday came and went and it was exactly how I wanted it – low key and lovely. Julia organized the most massive bouquet of orchids from the flower market for me, an extra portion of coconut balls for breakfast, and I got to take a picture with a sugar glider (or Petaurus breviceps, Latin for short-headed rope-dancer – what a cool name!) at the Chatachuk market. I also got awesome noise cancelling headphones and fancy Italian toothpaste that I’m putting to good use now twice a day to clear my diving mask.

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

midnight blue elephant_thailand_chiang mai_bangkok_koh tao_travel_annika ziehen

But while I really really love Bangkok and its Thip Samai pad thai and its donuts and its energy and its amazing people and the fact that you can buy Australien Moet champagne there I was also kind of happy to be done with it and return to Koh Tao. The air here is less stuffy, there is only cicada noise, there is diving, and the best little Japanese restaurant ever. With that in mind and because I falling asleep after a day of sun on my face and diving and because need to cuddle with not one but two kittens now…good night.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

